Island Council

The Ascension Island Council is an elected body that provides advice to the Administrator on matters relating to the governance of Ascension Island. As a result of changes in the constitutional arrangements for Ascension Island, the first Island Council of seven members was elected and took office on 1 November 2002. Current councillors are Samantha Arms-Lawrence, Caroline Yon, Jacqui Ellick, Kitty George, Cyril Leo, Nicholas John and Larry Poultney.

Councillor George



Councillor Kitty George Kitty was born on St Helena Island in 1970 and lived there until she moved to Ascension in 1990. This is her third term on the Ascension Island Council. She represented the Council at the JMC (then OTCC) in London in December 2011. Kitty is currently working as Shipping Agent with Ascension Island Government. She has two adult sons.


Councillor Caz Yon




Councillor Caroline Yon

Caroline (Caz) has been on Ascension Island since the early nineties. She has a background in Radio and Telecommunications and initially came here on a secondment with CSO (part of GCHQ). In 1995 she was offered a post at the European Space Agency Telemetry Tracking Station where she continues as the Station Manager to this day. Caz was elected to the very first Island Council in 2002 and re-elected in 2005. She decided to stand again for election last year, was successful and is back on the Island Council with Chairmanship of the Biodiversity and Fisheries Committee. Caz also represented the Council at the JMC in London in December 2014. She has been a Magistrate for 13 years, and a Lay Advocate for the past five years. Caz is married with one daughter.


Councillor Nicholas John John




Councillor Nicholas John

Nicky was born on St Helena. He came to Ascension in November 1991 where he was employed by Cable and Wireless as an HF Radio and Operations Watch Keeper. Since then Nicky has also fulfilled the roles of Telephone Switchboard and Telegraph Office Operator, Networks Technician (primarily in Satellite communications). He is currently Senior Technician for the European Space Agency Downrange Telemetry Station at North East Bay here on Ascension. He has provided support for the success of the station for more than fifty ESA Ariane5 and Soyuz and Vega launches. Nicky is an advanced PADI scuba diver and is very keen on deep sea fishing, football, and cricket. Nicky is married with two children. This is his first time as an Island Councillor.


Councillor Jacqui Ellick




Councillor Jacqueline Ellick

Jacqui spent the majority of her childhood years on Ascension Island, and has lived on the island again since 1994. Jacqui is very involved in community and conservation voluntary work. She is a Justice of the Peace, helps run the Islander Newspaper and is this year heading the Turtle Intern Programme in conjunction with the Conservation Office. Jacqui is married with five children and has one granddaughter.


Councillor Leo



 Councillor Cyril Leo


Councillor Arms-Lawrence



Councillor Samantha Arms-Lawrence


From time to time the Island Council invites the public to express their views on proposed legislation. Please be assured that submissions made through the website will be received by Councillors anonymously. You can contact the Councillors by clicking on their pictures or by using the contact form at the bottom of this page. This form can also be used to contact Councillors with your views or comments on any other issues as appropriate.




Copyright © 2016 Ascension Island Government All Rights Reserved Website Design by The Communications Group
Disable Background?: